2010 Awards Ceremony

m Bookmark and Share

Four Nurses Share the Agnes E. Flaherty Leadership and the Sister Consuela White Spirit of Nursing Awards on April 29th at the Senator Inn

Photo Gallery

The Senator Inn filled with nurses, friends and family to enjoy good food, good company and amazing stories in recognition of the best in nursing. Fourteen candidates from across the state of Maine eligible for the awards were presented by the individuals who nominated them or by proxy if they were unable to attend. Among those nominated but not eligible because they currently hold seats on the ANA-MAINE Board of Directors included past president Susan Henderson and current president Susan McLeod and Noreen Vincent, a Director at Large as well as an alternate to both the House of Delegates and the Center for American Nurses. It was a difficult decision for the awards committee as all agreed that each candidate was remarkable and deserving in their own way. All the nominees received a bouquet of flowers and the winners received a plaque.

Among those present at the ceremony was the key note speaker Becky Patton, President of ANA. She spoke on the health care reform bill and the major roll played by ANA which was recognized and appreciated by President Obama. Becky was present in a front row seat at the signing of the bill. She also talked about the nursing students of today and how amazing they are at using current technology to speak intelligently on health issues using the most up-to date scientific research and evidence based practices.

The winners of the Agnes E. Flaherty Leadership Awards were:

  • Leigh Ann Howard, RN, MSN from the VNA Home Health and Hospice
  • Stephanie Lanham, PMHNP-BC from Acadia Hospital

The Sister Consuela White Spirit of Nursing Awards went to:

  • Catherine Lorello-Snow, RNC from the Portland Help Center
  • Christine Robbins, RN, BSN, OCN from the Maine Medical Center

In addition to these awards, the Student Nurse Scholarship was presented and went to Jay Groesbeck from EMMC and the President's Award went to Nancy Tarr of Augusta.