2008 Annual Conference and Business Meeting

m Bookmark and Share

ANA Maine’s 2008 Meeting and Conference: A Report (click here for meeting minutes)

2008 ANA-MAINE Annual Meeting

Flanked by our retiring and incoming Commissioners, members of the ANA-MAINEContinuing Education Committee enjoy a rare face-to-face meeting at the ANA-MAINE Annual Meeting in Bangor, October 23rd.
Front row: Paula Theriault, Jane O’Malley, Diana Crowell, and new CE Commissioner Karen Rea.
Back row: Retiring Commissioner Ellen Bridge, Administrative CE Consultant Dawn Wiers, Janet Durgin, Chair Ruta Jordans, Barbara Hildreth
and Irene Eaton-Bancroft.

This year our Annual Meeting and Conference, “Maine Nurses Working Together: Improving the Health Care and Nursing Environment,” was held Oct. 23, 2008 at the Special Event Center in Bangor.

Keynote speaker was Isis Montavlo, RN, MS, MBA, of the American Nurses Association. She addressed the relationship of safe staffing and nurse sensitive quality indicators. Lisa Harvey McPherson, RN, MBA, MPPM articulated the importance of manifesting nursing leadership through the legislative process. Carolyn McKenzie, LPN gave a moving presentation on how a personal trauma gave rise to strength that she shared with patients. Sandra Armington, RN, BSN, spoke of environmental concerns and nursing actions. Ed Latham, RN, FNGNA ended the day with uproarious humor that revealed deep, compassionate truths about nurses and nursing as he discussed the importance of developing positive work environments.

The annual business meeting was held during the luncheon. Nonmembers were invited to be present. The names of Maine nurses who died during the past year were honored by the reading of the Nightingale Tribute. Members who were present received written reports from officers and committee chairs; these reports were filed. An amendment to the bylaws was passed that would allow members who are not working to pay a reduced dues rate. This amendment and all committee reports presented are available to members. Election results were as follows: Director Bettie Kettell replaced Gail Dudley as second vice president, and Wayne Steller replaced Bettie Kettell as a director. 

Presidents of Student Nurses Associations were recognized for their service. The Continuing Education
Committee was honored for its work in achieving reaccreditation from the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) of ANA. ANA-Maine hosted the Student Nurses Association of Maine meeting during the day’s

The ANA-Maine Board of Directors thanks Marsh Affinity Group Services and ATI, and Assessment Technologies Institute, for helping to sponsor our event! Thank-you also to our journal publisher Arthur L. Davis
for the gift of flowers and handouts.